Skip to main content

Event Calendar

Domestic Violence 101 Training

Wednesday, September 18, 20199:00 amThursday, September 19, 20194:00 pm
Delaware Technical and Community College, Dover, DE

We have reached capacity and there is now a waiting list. To join the waiting list, please click on Register Now and fill out the form.

DCADV offers a semi-annual two-day Domestic Violence 101 (DV101) Training. DV101 is the Coalition’s signature training event and attracts a multidisciplinary audience from across the state. Participants typically include domestic violence service providers, nonprofit organizations, law enforcement agencies, and state employees working on issues ranging from behavioral health services to human resources to the criminal justice system. DV101 provides an overview of the dynamics and prevalence of domestic violence, and teaches participants effective advocacy skills that support safety and empowerment across systems. Topics covered during the training include:

- History & Culture of Domestic Violence
- Dynamics of Abusive Relationships
- Empowerment Advocacy
- Risk Assessment
- Safety Planning
- Community Resources
- Criminal Justice and Civil Justice Systems
- Protection from Abuse Orders
- Trauma-Informed Services
- Prevention & Social Change

Wednesday, September 18 and Thursday, September 19, 2019

Delaware Technical and Community College, Terry Campus
100 Campus Drive, Dover, DE 19904
Corporate Training Center, Room 400B

8:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. Registration/Check In
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Workshop with breaks

*Lunch will not be provided. There will be a 75-minute break for lunch. Participants may leave the training facility to purchase a meal or bring a packed lunch.

Registration Fees:
$40.00 (both days)- Delaware Certified Domestic Violence Specialists, DCADV Member Organizations, and Current DCADV Supporting Members
$50.00 (both days)- Nonmembers
Not sure if you're a member? Click here to view a list of our current members.

*Single day registration is also available ($20 for members/$25 for nonmembers). However, it is highly recommended that participants attend Day 1 before attending Day 2.

This course has been approved by the National Association of Social Workers, Delaware Chapter for 10.5 contact hours of continuing education credit.